SELF ESTEEM:

pexels-photo-268435Genesis 1:31

And God saw everything that He had made, and, behold, it was very good. And the evening and the morning were the sixth day.

Psalms 139:14

I will praise thee; for i am fearfully and wonderfully made: marvelous are thy works; and that my soul knoweth right well.

I was 15 years old and in high school, Senior 2 to be exact, an equivalent of Form 2 in Kenya. I was young, so proud, noisy (class noisemaker) and struggling with self esteem. No one ever knew i was struggling, not even my closest friend, i knew how to hide it behind my pride, so well i almost deceived myself.

I hated my legs, i hated my feet, i hated my face, i felt like i wasn’t beautiful enough…i wasn’t even being approached by any boys in school…ours being a mixed school…goodness, i asked God why…despite me not having an intimate relationship with God. I had and still am bow legged…i had and still have a slender and long foot…size 7/40…i felt like my toes were not the epitome of beauty…i had big brown eyes, cheek bones and a double chin…felt like i had attributes of a male…every single day was a struggle, i described myself as a walking disaster. I had my own ‘click’ of friends who in my heart and everyone else’s they were the definition of beauty…i hid my insecurities behind their beauty.

I can’t remember when exactly i stopped having low self esteem and trashing myself but i can say for a fact i love me…when i started accepting the flaws that made me beautiful, that made me uniquely me, i became someone totally different. When i read God’s word and saw myself through His eyes…even the devil has got nothing on me.

When i had this revelation, nothing could stop me…my demeanor changed, my mindset changed. I would strut down the streets of my school like i owned it…like it was my runway. Formerly known as the chaotic noisy girl…now i was ‘Her Yellowness’ ( i am yellow) , popular brown and beautiful girl in school…i even got boyfriends. ( :-/ ). I was still noisy and chaotic though…

Think about it…if all of us looked the same and did the same things ( not saying this in bad faith…Chinese all look the same to me, yet they are different )…won’t the world be so boring? Accept you, love you…because when our Father was creating you…He only had you in mind…no one else…one original…not a copy. Every time i read Psalms 139, tears come to my eyes. How wonderful is my Father, who knows me in and out…knows all my flaws and mistakes, past, present and future and still loves me the same…and still loves me unconditionally…and still calls me beautiful…very good.

I am beautiful…in and out…  fearfully and wonderfully made, i am very good…because God’s word says that everything He made is very good…nothing He made is ugly. The power of ‘I AM’ starts with self love and self acceptance…its hard to value something that doesn’t value itself, same goes for us human beings…

Each and everyone of us was created in His image (Genesis 1:26-27) . Sit down and think…is God ugly? No…you are what and who God says you are. You are beautiful, made in His image and likeness, fearfully and wonderfully made, very good.

Believe in His word and see your life change before your very eyes. He loves you, ask Him to show you how He sees you. See yourself through His eyes.

My God said it, I believe it and that settles it.

#JesusLovesYou

#YouAreBeautiful

#KingdomBusiness

Leave a Reply

